The #1 Mistake for Bios in 2015 + Bio Template

What is your bio missing?

We all agree that the world of marketing is changing or we wouldn’t be spending so much time perfecting our tweets and investing energy in our social media. In fact, according to a survey conducted by Zoomerang and published by Social Media Examiner, 61% of companies choose to invest their marketing budget in their website and social experience, versus the 9% that invest in TV and radio appearances.

Why!?

Because that’s where the leads are coming from.

Why!?

Because now-a-days, we’re googling everything and everyone before we make a decision. No one is going to spend their money if they’re having a bad online experience with your company. They want to feel like they have a connection with you! If they don’t, they’re gone.

For instance, I have someone named Ashley from Discover Card “LOL-ing” at my tweets. Nope, it’s not because I’m funny, it’s because Ashley at Discover Card is trying to make a connection with me. This way, when I want a credit card, I’ll think of how much I laugh with Ashley at Discover Card.

Then there’s Dean at United. Dean was really helpful after I started tweeting about how upset I was at United for losing my bags. So now, Dean at United tweets at me to “check in” and comment on how fun my last vacation looked. Dean does this not because he’s bored on the internet, Dean wants me to be a United customer. He’s not actively sending me discounts or reasons United is better than [insert your fave airline, here]. Instead, he’s building a relationship with me. Because, next time I’m looking for a plane ticket, he hopes I’ll want to buy from my friend, Dean at United.

So what does this have to do with your bio?

  1. In this world of marketing, the #1 mistake people make with their bio is writing it in the 3rd person. We all know you’re the one writing your bio!! So why are we all pretending we have a live-in bio writer?Writing your bio in the 3rd person only distances yourself further from your audience, particularly as a small business owner. And as you can tell, that is the last thing you want to do. Establishing a connection is everything, so speak directly to your audience.
  2. Don’t take yourself so seriously. Again, a connection is the goal. Customers, particularly in the small business world, will often resonate with YOU before the business.For example, there are TONS of real estate agents. So why should I hire you over the others? No, it’s not because you have 20 years of experience. I can google real estate agents with 20 years of experience and TONS will pop up.

    The reason I resonate with you is because something about who you are clicks with who I am. So, don’t write a bio that is all about credentials, write with personality and about who you are outside of work.

  3. Make it short. No one has the attention span to read your life’s story.
  4. Include a photo. I love bio pics of people looking human [read: not at work], but in this regard, all industries are different.
  5. “Sophia, I work in a super corporate and professional place. I definitely can’t talk about the my dream of having a pet unicorn” …or whatever… keep in mind that the people you work with are real people.Just like you, they go home to a family, they have hobbies, and they have good days and bad days. If they’re intimidating and grumpy all the time, they’re probably LOOKING for someone fresh and different. So, don’t make the whole “but no one else is doing it” statement a reason to stop you. The world is changing [for the better, I might add]. Change with it!

TEMPLATE, by Alexandra Franzen (has written at Forbes, Times, Huffington Post, Newsweek, and others), with slight modifications to suit the current marketing climate. 

I want to live in a world where {describe the kind of world you want to live in}.

As a {your job title here}, I’ve been {spotlighted / featured / showcased / honored / applauded} on {list of blogs / websites / podcasts / theaters / art galleries / places that have recognized or shared your work}.

When I’m not {describe whatever your normally do}, you can find me {describe whatever you do when you’re not doing the thing ya do}.

My {first / next / latest / recently-released} {book / program / project / collaboration} — {title of your new and cool thing} — hits {the shelves / airwaves / silver screen / internet / an inbox near you} on {date}.

{Discover / learn / explore / find out} how to {describe whatever you help people to do} at {your website here}.

So, here’s what I came up with.
SOPHIA’S ACTING BIO:

I want to live in a world where following your dreams are encouraged, annual vacations are covered by health insurance, and we break out in song as they do in the musicals. …Because most of my top wish list items aren’t considered “possible,” I’ve joined the world of “Anything’s Possible.” A.K.A., the entertainment industry.

As a New York City actress, I’ve been lucky enough to chase a thieving teen down the road in sparkly heels on Blue Bloods, hang with Robin Wright on House of Cards, travel the indie-film circuit in films such as Kalamity, Surviving Family, and Scumbag, and be moved to tears by Rachel McAdams on the set of State of Play.

Off set, I’m the founder and CEO of #BlogBoutique, where I build the social stage for small businesses so they can be found, seen, and heard by their perfect audience. I also spend a lot of time working up a sweat outdoors, trying to convince my dog to cuddle with me, over-eating something decadent, and meditating. My Southeast Asian upbringing has also made me passionate about the abuse of our world, which means I spend a lot of time yelling at strangers for not recycling.

You can find what’s poppin’ with me at SophiaParra.com, or learn more about building your business one tweet at a time on BlogBoutique.net! See y’all over there.

The end. That took me 15 minutes…not 10. But who’s counting?
Get started on yours today! 

Was this helpful? Please share with your friends and comment below.

Snag Sophia’s FREE Top 5 Marketing Musts!


Leave a comment